Team Hemp Backpack

10.04.2022

image

Why hemp anyway?

In our part of the world, hemp is often seen exclusively as a drug and is therefore frowned upon. However, industrial hemp in particular is one of the oldest cultivated plants in Europe, from which ropes, flags and even uniforms were made more than 300 years ago. Overall, the material is considered one of the most sustainable raw materials of all, is vegan and impresses with its solid robustness.
Before the widespread use of cotton, hemp fibres were the most common raw material for textiles. The plant's fibres are extremely strong and can still be spun into soft yarn. Even the famous jeans inventor Levi Strauss used hemp fibres rather than cotton for his first models.

We have to be the change we want to see in the world.

Hemp was also traditionally used in the shipping industry, where many ropes, cables and sailcloths are still traditionally made from hemp today. It was only with industrialisation and the possibility of processing cotton on an industrial scale that hemp faded into the background. Today, start-ups in particular are rediscovering the skin-friendly fibres and producing clothing, bags and rucksacks from hemp.
Other areas in which hemp has a long cultural tradition, especially in Europe, are paper production, the food industry in the form of seeds and oils and as a medicinal substance in pharmacology. CBD oil has become particularly popular in recent years. In contrast to THC, CBD does not have an intoxicating effect, but only a slightly calming one.
image
audit

Team Hanfrucksack

10.04.2022

image

Warum eigentlich Hanf?

Hanf wird in unseren Breitengraden häufig ausschliesslich als Droge verstanden und gilt deshalb als verpönt. Dabei gehört vor allem der Nutzhanf zu den ältesten Kulturpflanzen in Europa, aus welchem bereits vor mehr als 300 Jahren Seile, Flaggen und sogar Uniformen hergestellt wurden. Insgesamt gilt das Material als eines der nachhaltigsten Grundstoffe überhaupt, ist vegan und besticht durch eine solide Robustheit. 
Vor der weiten Verbreitung von Baumwolle waren Hanffasern der häufigste Ausgangsstoff für Textilien. Die Fasern der Pflanze sind enorm stabil und lassen sich dennoch zu weichem Garn verspinnen. Sogar der berühmte Jeanserfinder Levi Strauss griff für seine ersten Modelle nicht auf Baumwoll-, sondern auf Hanffasern zurück.

Wir müssen die Veränderung sein, die wir in der Welt sehen möchten.

Traditionell kam Hanf zudem im Bereich der Schiffsindustrie zum Einsatz, wo noch heute viele Seile, Taue und Segeltücher traditionell aus Hanf gefertigt werden. Erst mit der Industrialisierung und der Möglichkeit einer industriellen Verarbeitung von Baumwolle geriet Hanf in den Hintergrund. Heute entdecken vor allem Start-Ups die hautfreundlichen Fasern wieder und stellen Kleidung sowie Taschen und Rucksäcke aus Hanf her.
Weitere Bereiche, in denen Hanf vor allem in Europa eine lange kulturelle Tradition aufweist, sind die Papierherstellung, in Form von Samen und Ölen die Nahrungsmittelindustrie sowie als Arzneistoff in der Pharmakologie. Beliebt wurde in den letzten Jahren vor allem CBD-Öl. Im Gegensatz zu THC wirkt CBD nicht berauschend, sondern ausschliesslich leicht beruhigend.
image
audit